Fonds 89-009 - Denis Smith fonds. 1989 additions

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Denis Smith fonds. 1989 additions

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title is based on creator of fonds

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1963-1976 (Creation)
    Smith, Denis

Physical description area

Physical description

61 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Professor S.G. Denis Smith was born in 1932 in Edmonton. In 1953 he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts, Honours, from McGill University. At McGill he received the J.W. McConnell Scholarship and an I.O.D.E. post-graduate scholarship for Oxford University in England. From 1953 to 1956 Denis attended Oxford University and obtained his Master's Degree and a Bachelor of Literature. While in Oxford he received an Exhibition Scholarship and a grant from the Bryce Fund to travel and study in Poland. In 1956 he returned to Canada and by 1962 had written a number of papers and reviews on political material. Denis Smith has held a number of university positions throughout his career. He was with the Department of Political Economy at the University of Toronto, 1956 to 1957; Department of Political Science, York University, 1960 to 1961 and was the first Registrar of that University. He held the Vice-President's position at Trent University from 1964 to 1967. He was Master of Champlain College from 1969 to 1971 and a professor in the Department of Political Studies to 1983 when he left to teach and become Dean of Social Sciences at the University of Western Ontario. At Trent he was Chairman of the Politics Department from 1967 to 1968. He was editor of the Journal of Canadian Studies from 1966 to 1975; editor of the Canadian Forum from 1975 to 1979 and President of the Canadian Periodical Publishers Association from 1975 to 1977. He has written several books including: Bleeding Hearts, Bleeding Country, 1971; Gentle Patriot, 1973; Diplomacy of Fear, 1988; Rogue Tory, 1995; Prisoners of Cabrera, 2001; Ignatieff's World: A Liberal Leader for the 21st Century?, 2006; Ignatieff's World Updated: Iggy goes to Ottawa, 2009; General Miranda’s Wars: Turmoil and Revolt in Spanish America, 1750-1816, 2013; and, A Dissenting Voice: Essays, Addresses, Polemics, Diversions, 1959 - 2015, 2017.

Custodial history

This fonds was created by Denis Smith and in the custody of the Journal of Canadian Studies and in 1988 it was donated to the Trent University Archives.

Scope and content

This addition to Professor Denis Smith's fonds consists of records forwarded to the Archives via the office of the Journal of Canadian Studies in 1988 which were apparently generated by Professor Denis Smith. Most files relate to Trent University, its founding and architectural history, and areas of interest to Professor Smith such as the Committee For An Independent Canada and the Canadian Forum.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

This fonds was donated by Denis Smith via the Journal for Canadian Studies.


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Permission of the University Archivist.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

For related records see: 80-024, 82-015 and 95-007.


This fonds along with 92-012, 01-002, 02-012, 04-019, 12-008, 14-010, and 18-007 is an addition to 86-001.

General note

Box 1


1: University of Toronto Alumni

2: Canadian Studies Program

3: Toronto City Hall

4: Other Departments

5: Canadian Political Science Assoc. 1974

6: Canadian Political Science Assoc. 1975

7: Canadian Political Science Assoc. 1976

8: Colin Wright

9: Amnesty International

10: Canadian Forum

11: Canadian Publishing

12: Committee For An Independent Canada

13: Committee on Television

14: Cultural Policy

15: Devonshire House

16: High Schools

17: Mel Hurtig

18: Information Canada

19: Department of National Revenue

20: Royal Commonwealth Society

21: Committee on University Affairs

22: University Club of Toronto

23: D. S. Rickerd

24: Peter Dale Scott

25: Sidney Smith, Postmaster General

26: H. G. Thorburn

27: P.-E. Trudeau

28: Dalton Camp

29: MME Solange Chaput-Rolland

30: Company of Young Canadians

31: Constitution of Canada

32: R.G.L. Fairweather, M.P.

33: Eugene Forsey

34: College V Committee

35: P.C. Policy Advisory Committee

36: Champlain College

37: Trent University, President

38: Trent University, General

39: Peter C. Newman

40: Trent University Radio Service

41: Safety Committee

Committee on Salaries and Promotions

42: Scholarships, Prizes, Awards

43: Committee of the Sciences

44: Secretarial and Administrative Arrangements

45: Committee on the Selection of a President

46: Senate Executive Committee

47: Special Appeals Committee

48: Striking Committee

49: Serpent Mounds

50: B. Napier Simpson

51: Small School Talent Search, Univ. of Chicago

Box 2


1: Special Lectures

2: Stratford

3: Student Activities

4: Student Discipline

5: Student Dress

6: Graduating Class, 1967

7: Graduating Class, 1968

8: Student Housing

9: Student Mental Health

10: Student Publications

11: Student Union

12: Symbols and Ceremonials: plaque re founding of Trent; press releases re opening of Lady Eaton (1969) and Chemistry Building (1969); opening of University bridge (1968); cornerstone of Lady Eaton College (1968); cornerstones on University Court.

13: Convocation, June 1967; speech introducing Bora Laskin; installation of Frost as Chancellor; other honorary degrees: Coldwell, Colville, Ed Mirvish, Chas. Ashley.

14: Master Plan Text

15: Master Plan

16: Master Plan Review

17: Site Development: Master Plan Review

18: Site Development: General

19: Site Development: College V

20: Site Development: Lady Eaton College

21: Site Development: Summary of Construction Reports

22: Site Development: Library

23: Site Development: Master Plan Book

24: Site Development: Planning of New Colleges

25: Site Development: Science Building

26: Site Development: Site Services

27: Ad Hoc Committee on Building Priorities

28: Master Planning Architect: R. Thom, South Central School, choice of Thom in 1963 as Master Planning Architect, letters from Thom outlining his philosophy, tentative building schedule, Brief to the Master Planning Architect, newspaper clipping re Thom, biographical sketch of Thom, historical sketch of his firm, Thompson, Berwick & Pratt.

29: Master Plan: Publications; brief history of Trent University to1964, sketches by architect (unfinished), graph of proposed building schedule for Trent.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres