Series 77-028 - Canada West. 1851 and 1861 Peterborough County Census

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Canada West. 1851 and 1861 Peterborough County Census

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 2 Nov. 1970 (Reproduction)
  • 1851, 1861 (Creation)
    Canada West. Peterborough County Census.

Physical description area

Physical description

4 microfilm reels

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The land which is now Peterborough County was originally part of Newcastle District before 1841, and the Colbourne District until 1850. At this time the United Counties of Peterborough and Victoria was created. In 1861, Victoria County was given independence from Peterborough. Peterborough County is made up of the following townships: Galway, Cavendish, Anstruther, Chandos, Harvey, Burleigh, Methuen, Ennismore, Smith, Douro, Dummer, Belmont, North Monaghan, Otonabee, and Asphodel. (taken from "Illustrated Historical Atlas of Peterborough County 1825-1875." Peterborough: The Peterborough Historical Atlas Foundation Inc., 1975.)

Custodial history

The microfilm copies of the census records were purchased from the Library and Archives Canada by the Trent University Archives.

Scope and content

The microfilms are copies of the 1851 and 1861 decennial nominal census for Peterborough County and parts of Prescott and Prince Edward Counties. Also included (reel 4) is the 1851 census for the Townships of Minden, Stanhope, and Dysart.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

The microfilm was purchased from the Library and Archives Canada.


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

The original records are located at the Library and Archives Canada.

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access


Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

See other series in collection for more census records.

Related materials


General note

Microfilm. Set 19.


1851 Census

Reel 1 (P.A.C. film #C-978):

Peterborough County: Division #
285 Belmont Township
290 Methuen Township
286 Burleigh Township
288 Dummer Township
287 Douro Township
289 Harvey Township
291 Smith Township
292 North Monaghan Township
293 Asphodel Township
294 Ennismore Township
295 Otonabee Township
296 Peterborough town

Reel 2 (P.A.C. film #C-979):

Peterborough County: Division #
296 Peterborough town (continued)

Prescott County: Division #
297 Caledonia Township (agricultural census missing)
298 Hawkesbury West Township (agricultural census missing)
299 Hawkesbury East Township (agricultural census missing)
300 Longueuil and Alfred Township (agricultural census missing)
301 Alfred Township (agricultural census missing)
302 Plantagenet North Township (missing)
303 Plantagenet South Township (agricultural census missing)

Prince Edward County: Division #
304 Ameliasburg Township, part 1 Ameliasburg Township, part 2 (personal census missing)
305 Athol Township (personal census missing)
306 Hallowell Township, part 1 (agricultural census missing); Hallowell Township, part 2 (agricultural census missing)

1861 Census

Reel 3 (P.A.C. film #C-1066):

Perth County: Division #
318A agricultural census

Peterborough County: Division #
319 Ashburnham Village
320 Asphodel Township
321 Belmont Township
322 Douro Township
323 Dummer Township
324 Ennismore Township

Reel 4 (P.A.C. film #1067):

Peterborough County: Division #
325 Galway Township
326 Harvey Township
327 Minden, Stanhope and Dysart Townships
328 North Monaghan Township
329 Otonabee Township
330 Peterborough town
331 Smith Township
332 Snowden Township
332A agricultural census

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Name access points

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area