Series 77-029 - Canada. 1871 Peterborough County Census

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Canada. 1871 Peterborough County Census

General material designation

    Parallel title

    Other title information

    Title statements of responsibility

    Title notes

    Level of description


    Reference code


    Edition area

    Edition statement

    Edition statement of responsibility

    Class of material specific details area

    Statement of scale (cartographic)

    Statement of projection (cartographic)

    Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

    Statement of scale (architectural)

    Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

    Dates of creation area


    • 15 Dec. 1975 (Reproduction)
    • 1871 (Creation)
      Canada. Peterborough County Census.

    Physical description area

    Physical description

    4 microfilm reels

    Publisher's series area

    Title proper of publisher's series

    Parallel titles of publisher's series

    Other title information of publisher's series

    Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

    Numbering within publisher's series

    Note on publisher's series

    Archival description area

    Name of creator

    Administrative history

    The land which is now Peterborough County was originally part of Newcastle District before 1841, and the Colbourne District until 1850, the year when districts were replaced by counties in Upper Canada. At this time the United Counties of Peterborough and Victoria was created. In 1861, Victoria County was given independence from Peterborough. Peterborough County is made up of the following townships: Galway, Cavendish, Anstruther, Chandos, Harvey, Burleigh, Methuen, Ennismore, Smith, Douro, Dummer, Belmont, North Monaghan, Otonabee, and Asphodel. (taken from "Illustrated Historical Atlas of Peterborough County 1825-1875." Peterborough: The Peterborough Historical Atlas Foundation Inc., 1975.)

    Custodial history

    Scope and content

    The microfilms are copies of the decennial nominal census for Peterborough County from 1871. The microfilm also includes census records for parts of Northumberland East, Prince Edward and Hastings Counties.

    Notes area

    Physical condition

    Immediate source of acquisition

    The microfilm copies of the census records were purchased from the National Archives of Canada (now Library and Archives Canada).


    Language of material

      Script of material

        Location of originals

        The original records are located at Library and Archives Canada.

        Availability of other formats

        Restrictions on access


        Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

        Finding aids

        Associated materials

        For related records, see other census records in this collection.

        Related materials


        General note

        Microfilm. Set 20.


        1871 Census

        Reel 1 (P.A.C. film #C-0086):

        1. Northumberland East County
          Percy Township
          Seymour Township

        2. Peterborough West County
          Monaghan South Township
          Monaghan North Township
          Peterborough town
          Smith Township

        Reel 2 (P.A.C. film #C-9987):

        1. Peterborough West County
          Smith Township
          Ennismore Township

        2. Peterborough East County
          Otonabee Township
          Ashburnham Village
          Douro Township

        Reel 3 (P.A.C. film #C-9988):

        1. Peterborough East County
          Douro Township
          Asphodel Township
          Dummer Township
          Belmont Township
          Methuen Township

        2. Peterborough North County
          Harvey Township
          Galway Township
          Cavendish Township
          Chandos Township
          Anstruther Township
          Cardiff Township
          Burleigh Township
          Monmouth Township
          Snowden Township
          Glamorgan Township
          Minden Township
          Stanhope Township
          Sherborne Township

        Reel 4 (P.A.C. film #C-9989):

        1. Peterborough North County
          Guilford Township
          Harcourt Township
          Harburn Township
          Dysart Township
          Dudley Township
          Bruton Township

        2. Prince Edward County
          Hillier Township
          Wellington Village
          Hallowel Township
          Picton town

        Alternative identifier(s)

        Standard number

        Standard number

        Access points

        Name access points

        Description record identifier

        Institution identifier

        Rules or conventions

        Language of description

          Script of description


            Accession area