Parks Canada

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Parks Canada

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Since the initial reservation of the Hot Springs at Banff in 1885, the Canadian Parks Service has grown to encompass more than 30 national parks, more than 70 national historic parks and major sites, and 10 historically significant canal systems. The Canadian Parks Service plans, develops, and operates National Parks and National Historic Parks and Sites. First controlled by the Dominion Lands Branch of the Department of the Interior through its Superintendent of Rocky Mountains Park, Parks became, in 1908, a unit of the Forestry branch and, in 1911, a separate entity known as the Dominion (later National) Parks Branch. From 1918 to 1966, the Canadian Wildlife Service was a unit within the National Parks Branch. In 1973, Parks acquired control of historic canals, previously under the control of several different government departments. In 1979, Parks Canada became part of the Department of the Environment and in 1988 it was renamed the Canadian Parks Service. (Taken from: "Government Archives Division: General Guide Series." Ottawa: National Archives of Canada, 1991.)


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places