Ontario County

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Ontario County

Parallel form(s) of name

    Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

      Other form(s) of name

        Identifiers for corporate bodies

        Description area

        Dates of existence


        Ontario County derived its name from Lake Ontario. It is bounded on the south by the Lake and has three harbours: Whitby, Oshawa and Frenchman's Bay. It received its municipal status January 1, 1854. Before then it was part of York County. In 1851, by proclamation, York, Ontario and Peel Counties were made the United Counties of York, Ontario and Peel. In 1852 Ontario broke away from the United Counties to form its own separate county. Peter Perry, an early settler and prominent citizen of Whitby, was instrumental in the separation. The county has two ridings: North and South Ontario. The townships within Ontario County's borders are: Whitby (and the town of Whitby), East Whitby, Pickering, Uxbridge (and the village of Uxbridge), Rama, Scugog, Thorah, Scott, Brock, Mara and Reach. There are also the villages of Port Perry, Cannington and Oshawa, which was the first village in the county. (Taken from: The Illustrated Historical Atlas of Ontario County, Ontario. Belleville: Mika Silk Screening Ltd., 1972.)


        Legal status

        Functions, occupations and activities

        Mandates/sources of authority

        Internal structures/genealogy

        General context

        Relationships area

        Access points area

        Subject access points

        Place access points


        Control area

        Authority record identifier

        Institution identifier

        Rules and/or conventions used


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion




            Maintenance notes